We make Mornio. So take our opinion for what it is, and check the receipts. Every competitor fact below is taken from that app’s own App Store listing or documentation, checked on 21 July 2026, and linked at the bottom of this page. We say plainly where other apps beat Mornio, because a comparison you can’t trust is worth nothing to you.
Short answer
Both apps let you scan a barcode to dismiss the alarm, and both offer a check after dismissal, so the mechanics overlap more here than in most comparisons.
SuperAlarm is broader and reaches more phones: iOS 17 and later, with math, memory, barcode, object scanning, Face ID, walking and squat missions. Mornio is narrower and more private: five missions led by the scan, no ads, no account, nothing under Data Used to Track You, but it needs iOS 26.1.
Barcode missions compared
The scan is similar. What follows it is not. Scan to stop. Then it checks you stayed up. Three completed wake-ups are free, then Pro.
SuperAlarm is the closest direct competitor to Mornio's core mechanic that we have found, and it is a capable app. If you want the short version: SuperAlarm does more and reaches more iPhones, Mornio collects less and stays out of your way.
Side by side
Mornio and SuperAlarm, from their App Store listings on 21 July 2026.
Mornio
SuperAlarm
Developer
Mornio
Jiseop Han
Minimum iOS
26.1
17.0
App size
25.5 MB
221.1 MB
Ratings
New app, small review base
4.6 stars, about 4.2K ratings
Barcode or QR mission
Yes, the only mission
Yes, plus object scanning
Other missions
None
Math, memory, Face ID, walking, squats
Check after dismissal
Stay-awake check, then restarts
“Wake up check”
Backup item if the first is gone
Yes, optional second code
Not stated on listing
Extras
None
Voice briefing of time and weather
Ads
None
Third-Party Advertising in privacy label
Data used to track you
None declared
Location, Identifiers, Usage Data
Account required
No
Not stated on listing
Age rating
4+
9+
Pricing, compared carefully
This is where the two apps differ most in character. Mornio offers two options: $7.99 monthly or $29.99 yearly, plus a three free wake-ups with no card.
SuperAlarm is free to download with a much larger set of in-app purchases. On 25 October 2026 its listing showed weekly tiers at $4.49 and $4.99, monthly at $9.99, yearly tiers at $14.99, $19.99 and $39.99, and lifetime options at $34.99 and $69.99.
Two practical notes. A weekly subscription at $4.49 works out considerably more expensive than any yearly plan if you keep it, so check what you are actually being offered at checkout. And its cheapest yearly tier at $14.99 is genuinely less than Mornio's $29.99, so if price is your deciding factor SuperAlarm can be cheaper. Prices change and vary by region, so confirm on the live listing.
Where SuperAlarm is better
Breadth, reach and price flexibility
iOS 17 and later, so it reaches far more iPhones than Mornio's 26.1 requirement.
Many more mission types: math, memory games, object scanning, Face ID, walking and squats alongside barcode scanning. If one mission stops working on you, there is another.
A cheaper yearly option exists at $14.99 on its listing.
About 5,300 ratings at 4.5 stars, a considerably longer track record than Mornio has.
Extras Mornio does not have, such as a voice briefing of the time and weather.
Where Mornio is better
No ads, no tracking, less app
No ads at all. SuperAlarm's privacy label lists Third-Party Advertising; Mornio has no ads and no ad SDK.
Nothing under Data Used to Track You. SuperAlarm declares Location, Identifiers and Usage Data there.
No account, and no Mornio server. Codes are stored as a salted one-way hash on your iPhone.
25.5 MB against 221.1 MB.
Simple pricing. Two options rather than nine, with no weekly tier that quietly costs more.
An optional backup code in another room for when your main item is out of reach.
Yes. SuperAlarm's App Store listing names barcode scanning among its missions, alongside math problems, memory games, object scanning, Face ID, walking and squats. Its listing also describes a wake up check intended to stop you falling back asleep, so the core idea is similar to Mornio's.
Is SuperAlarm free?
It is free to download, and its privacy label lists Third-Party Advertising. On 25 October 2026 the listing showed weekly tiers at $4.49 and $4.99, monthly at $9.99, yearly at $14.99, $19.99 and $39.99, and lifetime at $34.99 and $69.99. In July it also showed a $2.99 monthly purchase to remove ads. Check what you are actually offered at checkout, since weekly plans cost far more over a year.
Which is more private, Mornio or SuperAlarm?
Mornio, on the published labels. SuperAlarm declares Location, Identifiers and Usage Data under Data Used to Track You; Mornio declares nothing in that section, requires no account, and stores registered codes as a salted one-way hash on your iPhone. Both are developer declarations to Apple rather than audits, and they change between versions.
Which has better missions?
SuperAlarm, on variety alone: it offers math, memory, barcode, object scanning, Face ID, walking and squats. Mornio has five (Scan, Walk, Shake, Math and Type). Mornio's argument is not variety but that the scan is location-anchored and is paired with a follow-up check, and that it adds an optional backup code for when your main item is unavailable.
SuperAlarm - Loud Alarm Clock, Jiseop Han. App Store listing (mission list, pricing tiers, compatibility and App Privacy labels).
Apple, AlarmKit framework documentation, and Apple’s WWDC25 session “Wake up to the AlarmKit API”, on the iOS 26 framework that lets third-party alarms sound through Silent mode and Focus.
App Store details change without notice. Everything above was checked on 21 July 2026 — if you spot something out of date, tell us at support@mornioapp.com and we’ll correct it. Written and published by the Mornio team. Last reviewed 21 July 2026.